Oscar Level Students Set Finalists

Academy of Art and Film Studies nominate 33 students from 22 universities as a finalist in the annual Oscar festival level students. The committee members will select the most appropriate films.

Prestigious award for film industry workers have begun to level the student held since 1972. Spike Lee, director of the famous by the movie "Malcolm X", ever received an Oscar Level Students in 1983.

The committee preparing the gold medal, silver and bronze, as well as cash each U.S. $ 5,000, $ 3,000 and U.S. $ 2,000 for the winners. There are four categories defined: alternative, animation, documentaries, and long story. In addition, the finalists will be invited around Los Angeles for one week after watching a variety of activities related to the film industry. The committee also will drag them into the various social activities. Peak, they will present at the trophy ceremony on June 11, 2011, at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater building.

The previous contestants compete in a process of elimination in the three regions. Each area of ​​the right to bring the three finalists from each category. This year, organizers for the first time will include up to three works in the Foreign Film category. The finalists came from the Czech Republic, Germany, Norway, Sweden, and England.

Here are the Oscar Level Students nominees:

Category Film Alternative
“Bitter,” Vlad Korishev, the Art Institute of California - San Francisco
“The Dust Machine,” Damon Mohl, University of Colorado, Boulder
“The Vermeers,” Tal S. Shamir, The New School, New York
“Unreal City,” Bryan Bykowicz, University of Michigan-Dearborn

Category Film Animation
“The Birds Upstairs,” Christopher Jarvis, New York University
“Correspondence,” Zach Hyer, Pratt Institute, New York
“Defective Detective,” Avner Geller and Stevie Lewis, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida
“Dragonboy,” Bernardo Warman, Academy of Art University, California
“The Girl and the Fox,” Tyler Kupferer, Savannah College of Art and Design, Georgia
“Heart,” Erick Oh, University of California, Los Angeles
“The Renter,” Jason Carpenter, California Institute of the Arts
“Swing,” Yen-Ting Kuo, School of Visual Arts, New York

Category Length Film
“The Candidate,” David Karlak, Savannah College of Art and Design, Georgia
“Fatakra,” Soham Mehta, University of Texas at Austin
“Flagpole,” Matt Kazman, New York University
“High Maintenance,” Shawn Wines, Columbia University
“Le Jeu des Soldats,” Lorne Hiltser, American Film Institute, California
“My First Claire,” Lou Howe, American Film Institute, California
“Snovi,” Reshad Kulenovic, Boston University
“Thief,” Julian Higgins, American Film Institute, California
“The Wind Is Blowing on My Street,” Saba Riazi, New York University
“Treasure,” Chelsea Bartlett, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida

Categories Documentary Film
“After,” Jeremy Cohen, The New School, New York
“Civil Indigent,” Nicholas Corrao and David Hafter, University of Florida
“Feast & Sacrifice,” Clare Major, University of California, Berkeley
“Imaginary Circumstances,” Anthony Weeks, Stanford University
“Shape of the Shapeless,” Jayan Cherian, City College of New York
“Sin Pais (Without Country),” Theo Rigby, Stanford University, California
“This is Us: Video Stories from Senegalese Youth,” Jeremy Teicher, Dartmouth College
“The Time Machine,” Mark Kendall, School of Visual Arts, New York
“Vera Klement: Blunt Edge,” Wonjung Bae, Columbia College Chicago